Best Video Conferencing Software in 2026: 12 tools compared
This page answers a simple question: which is the best video conferencing software for your needs? It covers twelve tools, from all-in-one meeting platforms such as Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet to webinar specialists, open-source options and chat-first apps. It is written for small businesses, IT leads and operations teams that need reliable live meetings, client calls or large events.
The tools were compared on how well they fit different teams, which meeting features they include, how easy they are to start using and how clearly they publish limits and prices. Below the basics you will also find what each tool really costs, so you can see the price once you know which one fits.
Top picks at a glance
- Best overall for video-first teams
Zoom WorkplaceZoom focuses on reliable meetings with chat attached, offers a free Basic tier, and includes cloud recording and unlimited AI summaries on paid plans.
$14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro); $16.99 billed monthly - Best for Microsoft 365 companies
Microsoft TeamsTeams Essentials starts at $4 per user per month, hosts up to 300 people and fits tightly with Outlook, SharePoint and Entra ID.
$4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials) - Best for Google Workspace teams
Google MeetMeet is native to Calendar, Gmail and Chat, joins from a browser without an install, and allows 100 to 1,000 participants depending on the edition.
$7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment) - Best free and self-hosted option
Jitsi MeetJitsi Meet is free open source software that IT staff can host themselves, with a free hosted version at meet.jit.si and a developer API.
Free - Best for regulated industries
Dialpad MeetingsDialpad Meetings lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and a one-click BAA for HIPAA, plus live AI transcription and room support.
$15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard) - Best for webinars and virtual events
LivestormLivestorm is built around webinars, runs events with up to 3,000 live attendees, adds polls and analytics, and does not charge per team member.
Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only)
What is video conferencing software?
Video conferencing software lets people meet live over the internet using video, audio and a shared screen. Day to day, teams use it for stand-ups, client calls, interviews, training sessions and all-hands meetings. Most tools add in-meeting chat, recording, calendar invites and a way to join from a browser or phone. Buyers also look at participant caps, meeting length limits, security controls such as encryption and single sign-on, and options for webinars or meeting rooms. The category ranges from stand-alone meeting apps to tools bundled into office suites or business phone systems.
Video Conferencing Software compared
| Tool | Best for | Starting price | Free plan or trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall for video-first teams. | $14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro); $16.99 billed monthly | Free plan | |
| Best for Microsoft 365 companies. | $4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials) | Free plan | |
| Best for Google Workspace teams. | $7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment) | Free plan, Free trial | |
| Best free and self-hosted option. | Free | Free plan | |
| Best for regulated industries. | $15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard) | No | |
| Best for webinars and virtual events. | Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only) | Free trial | |
| Teams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem. | $8.75/user/month monthly, about $7.25/user/month billed annually (Pro) | Free plan | |
| Small and mid-size businesses that want per-organizer pricing instead of per-attendee. | USD 12 per organizer/month billed annually (Professional) | Free trial | |
| Small teams already on Zoho apps that want meetings and webinars from one vendor. | $1 per host per month (Standard, billed annually; Zoho blog, Nov 2022, updated Sep 2023) | Free plan, Free trial | |
| Small teams and client-facing professionals who want link-based rooms without installs. | $0 Free; Pro $10.99/host/month | Free plan | |
| Companies already on RingCentral phone/messaging that want video in the same admin console. | Free (Video Pro); Pro+ about $10 per user per month billed annually per third-party report | Free plan, Free trial | |
| Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor. | Free plan; paid tiers not published by the vendor (third-party lists Meet about $12 per user/month annual) | Free plan |
Prices as published by each vendor on October 24, 2026. "Contact sales" means the vendor publishes no price.
The 12 best video conferencing software in 2026
Best overall for video-first teams
Zoom Workplace
Video meetings platform that bundles team chat, whiteboard and AI note-taking into per-user Pro and Business plans.
Zoom Workplace is a video meetings platform that adds team chat, a whiteboard and AI note-taking to its Pro and Business plans. Its security page lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001, and a free Basic tier is available.
- Best for
- Teams whose main need is reliable video meetings with chat attached.
- Company size
- Small business to enterprise.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Basic 100 and 40 min; Pro 100; Business 300; Enterprise up to 1,000; 30 hour max on paid plans.
- Security and compliance
- Trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, FedRAMP Moderate, PCI DSS.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Local recording on Basic; 10 GB cloud per license on Pro and Business; unlimited cloud on Enterprise; AI summaries unlimited on paid plans.
- Webinars and large events
- Webinars and Large Meetings are paid add-ons (prices not published on the plans page)
Pros
- Good video quality and easy screen sharing.
- Simple scheduling and joining.
Cons
- Feature set seen as limited versus suites.
- Connectivity issues and meeting fatigue.
Pricing: $14.16 per user/month billed annually (Pro); $16.99 billed monthly · Free plan
Zoom Workplace pricing and review Zoom Workplace alternatives
Best for Microsoft 365 companies
Microsoft Teams
Microsoft's chat, meetings and calling app, sold standalone as Teams Essentials or bundled in Microsoft 365 plans.
Microsoft Teams combines chat, meetings and calling, sold standalone as Teams Essentials or bundled in Microsoft 365 plans. It fits organizations already on Microsoft 365 and supports meetings of up to 300 people on small business plans.
- Best for
- Organizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID.
- Company size
- Small businesses (Essentials, Business) to enterprises (E3/E5)
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 300 on Essentials and Business plans; 1,000 on F1/F3/E3/E5 and similar; breakout rooms only up to 1,000 attendees; meetings and events capped at 30 hours.
- Security and compliance
- Built on Entra ID and Microsoft 365 compliance; certification list not confirmed by the vendor.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Recording max 4 hours or 1.5 GB, then restarts; recordings not uploaded stay downloadable 20 days.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Tight Outlook and SharePoint integration; files stored in SharePoint (up to 250 GB per file)
Pros
- Easy to use, strong file sharing and communication features.
- Tight fit with Microsoft 365.
Cons
- Performance issues and heavy resource use.
- Complicated interface, slow loading.
Pricing: $4.00/user/month paid yearly (Teams Essentials) · Free plan
Microsoft Teams pricing and review Microsoft Teams alternatives
Best for Google Workspace teams
Google Meet
Video meetings built into Google Workspace, with participant limits and recording set by the Workspace edition.
Google Meet is the video tool inside Google Workspace, tied to Calendar, Gmail and Chat. Participant limits and recording depend on the Workspace edition, and meetings can run up to 24 hours.
- Best for
- Teams already on Google Workspace that want meetings tied to Calendar and Gmail.
- Company size
- Starter, Standard and Plus capped at 300 users; Enterprise has no user cap.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 100 (Starter), 150 (Standard), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Enterprise); meetings up to 24 hours.
- Security and compliance
- Google lists FedRAMP, HIPAA and ISO/IEC programs for Workspace; client-side encryption and data regions offered; specific SOC reports not confirmed by the vendor.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Recording to Drive not supported on Starter; included from Standard.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Native to Google Calendar, Gmail and Chat.
Pros
- Easy to join from a browser with no install.
- Good fit with Calendar and the rest of Workspace.
- Solid audio and video quality for small meetings.
Cons
- Screen sharing glitches reported.
- Recording and time limits on lower tiers.
- Video can pixelate in large calls.
Pricing: $7 per user/month (Business Starter, annual commitment) · Free plan, Free trial
Best free and self-hosted option
Jitsi Meet
Open-source video meeting software you can self-host, or use via the free meet.jit.si and 8x8's JaaS hosted service.
Jitsi Meet is open-source meeting software that you can self-host or use through the free meet.jit.si service. Developers can embed video in their own apps through the JaaS API, while IT teams keep control of their data.
- Best for
- Teams with IT staff who want to self-host and control data.
- Company size
- Small teams and developers; self-hosting needs IT skills.
Key features
- Security and compliance
- DTLS-SRTP transport encryption; optional E2EE for audio/video/screen share in Chromium 83+ and Electron, not chat or polls; no vendor certifications found.
- Recording and AI transcription
- JaaS lists recordings and transcriptions.
Best for
- Teams with IT staff who want to self-host and control data.
- Developers embedding video in apps via JaaS iFrame API.
Not ideal for
- Buyers wanting managed admin, SSO and support without running servers.
- Regulated teams needing vendor compliance certificates.
Pricing: Free · Free plan
Best for regulated industries
Dialpad Meetings
Meetings module of Dialpad's AI communications platform, bundled with calling and messaging.
Dialpad Meetings is the meetings module of Dialpad's AI communications platform, bundled with calling and messaging. It includes live AI transcription, Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar links, and room support with one-click video rooms.
- Best for
- Teams already buying Dialpad for calling that want meetings in the same app.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Large Meetings add-on raises limit to 1,500; base limit not stated.
- Security and compliance
- SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27017/27018, HIPAA-ready with one-click BAA.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Live AI transcription included; recordings and chat transcripts accessible.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar; Salesforce activity logging.
Pros
- Good audio and video quality.
- Easy to use.
Cons
- Mobile app glitches when switching networks.
Pricing: $15 user/month (Dialpad Connect Standard)
Best for webinars and virtual events
Livestorm
Browser-based webinar and virtual event platform sold by yearly attendee credits rather than per host.
Livestorm is a browser-based platform for webinars and virtual events, sold by yearly attendee credits rather than per host. It stands out for interactive polls, analytics and events of up to 3,000 live attendees.
- Best for
- Marketing teams running recurring webinars with unlimited team members.
- Company size
- Mid-size marketing and events teams to enterprise.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 3,000 live attendees per event on Pro and Enterprise; 4 h (Pro) / 12 h (Enterprise)
- Security and compliance
- SAML SSO sold as an add-on.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Recording with start/pause/stop on Pro.
- Webinars and large events
- Core product: webinars and events, unlimited events on Pro.
Pros
- Interactive features such as polls.
- Attendees join in the browser without install.
- Strong analytics.
Cons
- Limited branding and landing page customization on lower tiers.
- Pricey for small teams.
Pricing: Pro from EUR 2.50 per attendee (EUR only) · Free trial
Slack
Channel-based team chat with huddles and Slack Connect, sold per user in Free, Pro, Business+ and Enterprise+ plans.
Slack is a channel-based team chat app with huddles and Slack Connect. Free huddles are one-to-one only, so it works best as a chat hub that sits next to a dedicated video tool, backed by a large app ecosystem.
- Best for
- Teams wanting channel-based chat with a large app ecosystem.
- Company size
- Small teams to large enterprises (Enterprise Grid)
Key features
- Security and compliance
- SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3, ISO 27001/27017/27018/27701/42001, HIPAA configurable, FedRAMP Moderate (Enterprise/Enterprise+), GovSlack FedRAMP High, C5, ENS High.
Pros
- Very easy to use (G2 ease of use about 9.1)
- Strong app and integration ecosystem.
Cons
- Notification overload and channel sprawl.
- Limited message history on free plan.
Pricing: $8.75/user/month monthly, about $7.25/user/month billed annually (Pro) · Free plan
GoTo Meeting charges per organizer, so attendees never need a license. Plans cover 150 to 250 attendees, and SSO and end-to-end encryption are part of the offer, which suits small and mid-size businesses.
- Best for
- Small and mid-size businesses that want per-organizer pricing instead of per-attendee.
- Company size
- SMB to mid-market.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- 150 (Professional), 250 (Business), Enterprise up to 250 per vendor page.
- Security and compliance
- SSO, encrypted sessions, end-to-end encryption, meeting lock; certifications not listed on the page.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Cloud recording and transcription appear to be Business and Enterprise only (inferred from checkmarks)
- Webinars and large events
- Advanced webinar features appear Enterprise only; webinars also sold as a separate product.
Pros
- Easy to use and set up (G2 sub-scores 8.8 and 8.6)
Pricing: USD 12 per organizer/month billed annually (Professional) · Free trial
Zoho Meeting
Web meeting and webinar tool from Zoho, sold per host with participant tiers from 10 to 250.
Zoho Meeting is a web meeting and webinar tool sold per host, with participant tiers from 10 to 250. It suits small teams already using Zoho apps and offers a separate webinar product with registration forms, polls and Q&A.
- Best for
- Small teams already on Zoho apps that want meetings and webinars from one vendor.
- Company size
- Small to mid-size teams, Zoho ecosystem users.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Up to 250 participants per tier list; meetings up to 24 hours on Standard.
- Security and compliance
- SSL and 128-bit AES transport encryption, meeting lock/password, CSV action log; certifications not confirmed by the vendor.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Cloud recording 5 GB per host on Standard; transcription listed on Professional.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Zoho and Google calendars; Microsoft calendar and Slack not mentioned.
Pros
- Reliable and simple for non-technical users.
- Works well with other Zoho products.
Cons
- Video and audio quality problems reported by some reviewers.
- Missing features and limited recording access.
Pricing: $1 per host per month (Standard, billed annually; Zoho blog, Nov 2022, updated Sep 2023) · Free plan, Free trial
Whereby runs video meetings in the browser with permanent room links, so guests join without installing anything. It is hosted mostly in the EU and holds ISO 27001, which makes it a fit for small teams and client-facing professionals.
- Best for
- Small teams and client-facing professionals who want link-based rooms without installs.
- Company size
- Individuals and small teams; Embedded product for developers.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Free 4 attendees/30 min; Pro 100; Business 200; unlimited length on paid.
- Security and compliance
- ISO 27001; AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.2; E2E on small rooms; HIPAA not mentioned.
- Recording and AI transcription
- Local recording; unlimited recording on Pro; AI transcription not mentioned.
- Calendar and chat integrations
- Google Calendar named; Slack and Teams not mentioned.
Pros
- Easy to join from a browser with no install.
Pricing: $0 Free; Pro $10.99/host/month · Free plan
RingCentral Video
Video meetings and webinars from RingCentral, sold mostly as part of its business phone and messaging bundle.
RingCentral Video offers meetings and webinars mostly as part of RingCentral's business phone and messaging bundle, with a free Video Pro plan for occasional use. Its trust center lists SOC 2, HIPAA and HITRUST.
- Best for
- Companies already on RingCentral phone/messaging that want video in the same admin console.
- Company size
- Small to enterprise, strongest where RingCentral phone is already used.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Third-party: 100 participants/50 min free, 200/24 h Pro+ (not confirmed by the vendor)
- Security and compliance
- Trust center lists HITRUST, PCI DSS, SOC 2, SOC 3, GDPR, Cyber Essentials Plus, HIPAA.
- Recording and AI transcription
- AI call and meeting summaries listed as AI Assistant, depending on tier.
Pros
- Quick setup.
- Low lag in meetings.
Cons
- Lag and app freezes.
- Missing transcriptions and glitches.
- Pricey versus Zoom and similar tools.
- Support score lower than setup score.
Pricing: Free (Video Pro); Pro+ about $10 per user per month billed annually per third-party report · Free plan, Free trial
Cisco Webex
Cisco's meetings, calling and events suite aimed at enterprise and hybrid-office rollouts.
Cisco Webex is a meetings, calling and events suite aimed at enterprise and hybrid-office rollouts. It combines meetings with calling and room hardware from one vendor and also offers a free plan.
- Best for
- Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor.
- Company size
- Enterprise focus.
Key features
- Participant and meeting length limits
- Free about 100; paid Meet about 200 per third-party sources; not confirmed by the vendor.
Best for
- Enterprises that want meetings plus calling and room hardware from one vendor.
Not ideal for
- Small teams wanting a transparent price list (figures vary by source)
Pricing: Free plan; paid tiers not published by the vendor (third-party lists Meet about $12 per user/month annual) · Free plan
How to choose the best video conferencing software
The right video conferencing software depends on the meetings you actually run and the tools your team already uses. A company on Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace may not need a second product, while client calls, large webinars or hybrid offices call for more. Start with your meeting sizes and security needs, then check the criteria below. Each one explains what it means in practice and what separates a strong tool from a weak one.
Pricing model
Video tools count licenses in different ways: per user, per host, per organizer or per attendee. That choice decides who needs a paid seat, because guests usually join for free. Free tiers often cap meeting length and attendees, so they suit occasional calls but not weekly team meetings. Watch for features such as webinars that cost extra.
Zoom Workplace: Per user, monthly or annual; free Basic tier.
Microsoft Teams: Per user, bundled with Microsoft 365 or standalone Essentials.
Google Meet: Per user via Google Workspace edition; no standalone paid Meet license.
Jitsi Meet: Free open source; JaaS free to 25 endpoints, paid above.
Dialpad Meetings: Bundled in Dialpad Connect, per user.
Target company size
Some tools are made for small teams and some for enterprise rollouts with admin consoles, single sign-on and long contracts. A small business gains little from enterprise tooling it will not manage, and a large company needs central controls that lightweight apps lack. Check which company size the vendor describes as its core customer.
Zoom Workplace: Small business to enterprise.
Microsoft Teams: Small businesses (Essentials, Business) to enterprises (E3/E5)
Google Meet: Starter, Standard and Plus capped at 300 users; Enterprise has no user cap.
Jitsi Meet: Small teams and developers; self-hosting needs IT skills.
Livestorm: Mid-size marketing and events teams to enterprise.
Participant and meeting length limits
Participant caps and session length decide whether a tool can handle an all-hands meeting or a long client workshop. Limits often rise with the plan, from about 100 attendees on entry plans to 1,000 or more on enterprise ones. Free plans may stop a call after 30 or 40 minutes, so check the cap on the plan you will actually use.
Zoom Workplace: Basic 100 and 40 min; Pro 100; Business 300; Enterprise up to 1,000; 30 hour max on paid plans.
Microsoft Teams: 300 on Essentials and Business plans; 1,000 on F1/F3/E3/E5 and similar; breakout rooms only up to 1,000 attendees; meetings and events capped at 30 hours.
Google Meet: 100 (Starter), 150 (Standard), 500 (Plus), 1,000 (Enterprise); meetings up to 24 hours.
Dialpad Meetings: Large Meetings add-on raises limit to 1,500; base limit not stated.
Livestorm: 3,000 live attendees per event on Pro and Enterprise; 4 h (Pro) / 12 h (Enterprise)
Security and compliance
Security covers encryption, meeting locks and passwords, single sign-on and admin controls. Regulated buyers also need proof such as SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA support with a signed agreement. Strong tools publish their certifications and data locations clearly. Weaker ones describe encryption only in general terms, which makes a security review harder.
Zoom Workplace: Trust center lists SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, FedRAMP Moderate, PCI DSS.
Microsoft Teams: Built on Entra ID and Microsoft 365 compliance; certification list not confirmed by the vendor.
Google Meet: Google lists FedRAMP, HIPAA and ISO/IEC programs for Workspace; client-side encryption and data regions offered; specific SOC reports not confirmed by the vendor.
Jitsi Meet: DTLS-SRTP transport encryption; optional E2EE for audio/video/screen share in Chromium 83+ and Electron, not chat or polls; no vendor certifications found.
Dialpad Meetings: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001/27017/27018, HIPAA-ready with one-click BAA.
Recording and AI transcription
Recording matters when people miss meetings or when you need a record of client calls. Look at where recordings are stored, how much space each license gets and whether transcripts and AI summaries are included. Strong tools offer cloud recording with searchable transcripts, while weaker ones allow only local recording. Some gate these features behind higher plans.
Zoom Workplace: Local recording on Basic; 10 GB cloud per license on Pro and Business; unlimited cloud on Enterprise; AI summaries unlimited on paid plans.
Microsoft Teams: Recording max 4 hours or 1.5 GB, then restarts; recordings not uploaded stay downloadable 20 days.
Google Meet: Recording to Drive not supported on Starter; included from Standard.
Jitsi Meet: JaaS lists recordings and transcriptions.
Dialpad Meetings: Live AI transcription included; recordings and chat transcripts accessible.
Calendar and chat integrations
A meeting tool should create links from your calendar and fit the chat app your team uses daily. Native ties to Google Workspace, Microsoft 365 or Slack mean fewer extra steps and fewer missed invites. Weak integrations force people to copy links by hand. Check whether the integration needs a paid plan before you rely on it.
Microsoft Teams: Tight Outlook and SharePoint integration; files stored in SharePoint (up to 250 GB per file)
Google Meet: Native to Google Calendar, Gmail and Chat.
Dialpad Meetings: Microsoft 365 and Google Calendar; Salesforce activity logging.
Zoho Meeting: Zoho and Google calendars; Microsoft calendar and Slack not mentioned.
Whereby: Google Calendar named; Slack and Teams not mentioned.
Webinars and large events
Webinars add registration pages, polls, Q&A and larger audiences, with attendees who watch rather than talk. Some vendors build them into the main product, while others sell a separate webinar product or an add-on. Strong options handle thousands of viewers and report on who attended. Compare the audience size you need with the limit the vendor states.
Zoom Workplace: Webinars and Large Meetings are paid add-ons (prices not published on the plans page)
Microsoft Teams: Webinars and town halls (Teams events) available on Business plans; webinars/events on Business Standard and Premium per footnote.
Google Meet: In-domain live streaming on Enterprise (internal viewers, 8-hour stream limit, manual recording)
Dialpad Meetings: Large Meetings add-on up to 1,500.
Livestorm: Core product: webinars and events, unlimited events on Pro.
Meeting room and hardware support
Hybrid offices need software that works with room systems, displays and cameras, so remote staff see the whole table. Strong vendors sell or certify room kits and offer one-click room joining. Browser-only tools may not describe hardware support at all. Room licenses are often sold separately from user licenses, which can add to the bill.
Microsoft Teams: Teams Rooms licensed separately.
Dialpad Meetings: Dialpad Meetings for Rooms, one-click video rooms.
Zoho Meeting: Meeting rooms sold separately; hardware support not described.
Whereby: Not described; browser-based.
What video conferencing software really costs
Features decide the shortlist; the bill decides whether it stays affordable as the team grows. The numbers below come from each vendor's published plans: entry prices, how far plans climb, what single sign-on costs extra and which fees sit on top.
- Median entry price
- $10.5
- Publish their prices
- 8 of 12
- Free plans
- 9 of 12
- Biggest price climb
- 3.1x
per user per month, cheapest paid plan of each tool
4 quote on request
plus 2 free trials
Google Meet, $7 to $22
What video conferencing software costs per year for your size
For 20 users on the cheapest plan that fits, Microsoft Teams costs $960 a year and Dialpad Meetings $3,600. Pick your own size: the order changes because free plans end, plans have user caps and per-user prices multiply differently.
| # | Tool | Plan and price basis | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Teams Essentials$4 per user per month | $960 | |
| 2 | Business Starter$7 per user per month | $1,680 | |
| 3 | Pro$7.25 per user per month | $1,740 | |
| 4 | Video Pro+$10 per user per month | $2,400 | |
| 5 | Pro$10.99 per user per month | $2,638 | |
| 6 | Professional$12 per user per month | $2,880 | |
| 7 | Pro$14.16 per user per month | $3,398 | |
| 8 | Connect Standard$15 per user per month | $3,600 |
List prices per month as published on October 24, 2026, billed annually where the vendor shows both, promotions excluded. Full feature plan adds one-time onboarding fees in year one. Not in the calculation: Jitsi Meet, Livestorm, Zoho Meeting and Cisco Webex (quote only, another pricing unit or a plan that does not fit this size).
How far each price can climb
The entry price is rarely what you pay once the team needs more. Each line runs from a tool's cheapest paid plan to its most expensive published plan. Google Meet grows 3.1x from $7 to $22, Slack 2.1x, while RingCentral Video sells a single paid plan.
- Google MeetBusiness Starter $7 to Business Plus $22 per user per month3.1x
- SlackPro $7.25 to Business+ $15 per user per month2.1x
- Microsoft TeamsTeams Essentials $4 to Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7 per user per month1.8x
- Dialpad MeetingsConnect Standard $15 to Connect Pro $25 per user per month1.7x
- GoTo MeetingProfessional $12 to Business $16 per user per month1.3x
- Zoom WorkplacePro $14.16 to Business $18.33 per user per month1.3x
- WherebyPro $10.99 to Business $13.99 per user per month1.3x
Published plan prices only; quote-only plans are not on the scale. The scale is logarithmic so cheap and expensive tools fit on one line.
The price of single sign-on
If IT requires SAML single sign-on, the plan that includes it sets your real price, not the entry plan. 1 of the 3 tools that say where SSO sits charge more for it; 6 of 12 publish nothing about SSO, so ask before you budget.
GoTo Meeting+$0SAML SSO on every plan.
Slack+$7.75per user per month: SAML SSO needs Business+ ($15) instead of Pro ($7.25), $1,860 a year for 20 users.
Dialpad MeetingsAskSAML SSO sits on Connect Enterprise, which is quote only.
How video conferencing pricing works
Video conferencing vendors combine several pricing ideas: per user, per host, per attendee and bundled suites. Free tiers hook small teams, and the costs appear when you need longer meetings, recording, SSO or events. The patterns below describe the pricing models and cost traps seen in this category's published data, so you can compare plans based on how your team really meets.
Per-host and per-organizer pricing
Zoho Meeting is listed at $1 per host per month on annual billing, Whereby Pro at $10.99 per host and GoTo Meeting at USD 12 per organizer. Only the people who start meetings pay, which can be cheap when attendees are mostly guests. Count how many people really host.
Bundled suite pricing
Google Meet starts at $7 per user in Workspace Business Starter, and Microsoft Teams Essentials at $4.00 per user, with Business Basic at $7.00. The video comes with the suite, so the real question is whether you want the suite. Compare the whole bundle, not the video line.
Free tiers with caps
Zoom's free plan limits meetings to 40 minutes and Slack's free plan has 1:1 huddles only. Free plans are useful for occasional calls but force upgrades when meetings grow. Estimate how often you hit the cap before relying on a free plan.
Webinars and large meetings as add-ons
Dialpad's Large Meetings add-on, Zoom's Large Meeting and GoTo's webinars are sold separately, mostly without published prices. These items can exceed the base subscription. Ask for the add-on price before you sign, and check whether it covers a few events or the whole year.
Bundles with phone and messaging
RingCentral, Dialpad and Slack sell video inside broader communication products. Dialpad Connect Standard is $15 per user, and RingCentral lists add-ons from $25 to $60. If you only need video, a bundle can cost more than a standalone tool.
Costs that are easy to miss
Add-ons, usage fees and premium modules often decide the real bill. These are the paid extras the vendors list themselves.
Zoom WorkplaceLarge Meeting (1,000 participants), price not published; Webinars, price not published on plans page
Microsoft TeamsTeams Phone and calling plans, audio conferencing, Teams Premium, Teams Rooms: separate licenses, prices not listed here
Dialpad MeetingsLarge Meetings add-on to 1,500 participants (price not shown)
LivestormSAML SSO add-on (price not published)
SlackEnterprise Key Management (EKM), price not published; Frontline teams add-on on Enterprise+; Flex Credits via Salesforce for Slackbot message limits on Business+ invoice plans
GoTo MeetingWebinars sold as a separate product
Zoho MeetingExtra storage 25 GB blocks (price not shown); Toll-free numbers 55+ countries (price not shown); Premium support 20% of license fee
WherebyWhereby-provided recording storage (paid, price not shown)
Our recommendation
Start with the tools you already pay for, such as Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace, and add a dedicated product only when you need larger events, stricter compliance or better room support. Shortlist two or three tools, test them with real meetings including an outside guest, and then compare what each one costs for your number of hosts or users before you commit.
Video Conferencing Software: frequently asked questions
What is video conferencing software?
Video conferencing software lets people hold live meetings over the internet with video, audio, screen sharing and chat. Many tools add recording, calendar links and webinar features. Teams use it for internal meetings, client calls and training.
What is the best video conferencing software for small business?
Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet fit most small businesses. Teams Essentials hosts up to 300 people from about $4 per user per month, Google Meet suits companies on Workspace, and Zoom is a strong choice when video is the main need.
Which video conferencing tool has the best free plan?
Jitsi Meet is free as open source software and has a free hosted service, and Zoom, Google Meet, Whereby and RingCentral Video also offer free plans. Free tiers usually limit meeting length or attendees, such as 40 minutes on Zoom Basic or 4 people for 30 minutes on Whereby.
What features should video conferencing software have?
Look for stable video and audio, screen sharing, chat, cloud recording, calendar links and enough participant capacity. Security features such as encryption, meeting locks and single sign-on matter for business use. Add webinar and room support only if you will use them.
Do I need a separate tool if I already have Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace?
Often not. Teams and Google Meet come with those suites and tie into their calendars. A separate tool makes sense for larger webinars, specific compliance needs or when guests prefer a browser-based room.
What do video conferencing software cost for a team of 20?
Calculated from published list prices: Zoom Workplace: Business: 20 x $18.33 x 12 = $4,399.20 per year; Pro: 20 x $14.16 x 12 = $3,398.40; Microsoft Teams: Essentials: 20 x $4 x 12 = $960/year; Business Basic: 20 x $7 x 12 = $1,680/year; Google Meet: Starter: $7 x 20 x 12 = $1,680 per year (no Drive recording); Standard: $14 x 20 x 12 = $3,360; Dialpad Meetings: 20 x $15 x 12 = $3,600/yr if the $15 is a monthly rate (billing period unconfirmed); Slack: Pro annual: 20 x $7.25 x 12 = $1,740/year; Business+ annual: 20 x $15 x 12 = $3,600/year (annual rates not directly confirmed on the vendor page); GoTo Meeting: If all 20 were organizers on Professional: 12 x 20 x 12 = USD 2,880 per year; Business 16 x 20 x 12 = USD 3,840 (prices unconfirmed on page). Tools that quote on request are not included.
Which video conferencing software have a free plan or free trial?
Zoom Workplace (free plan), Microsoft Teams (free plan), Google Meet (free plan, free trial), Jitsi Meet (free plan), Livestorm (free trial), Slack (free plan), GoTo Meeting (free trial), Zoho Meeting (free plan, free trial), Whereby (free plan), RingCentral Video (free plan, free trial) and Cisco Webex (free plan), according to the vendors' sites on October 24, 2026.