Box review (2026): features, pros and cons, pricing

Enterprise content cloud with unlimited storage on business plans and escalating file size, version and AI limits by tier.

Researched by Max Benz · Facts checked October 24, 2026 · How we research

Verdict at a glance

Box is an enterprise content cloud with unlimited storage on its business plans and rising file size, version and AI limits by tier. All business plans need at least 3 users, and FedRAMP Moderate support arrives on Enterprise.

What is Box?

Enterprise content cloud with unlimited storage on business plans and escalating file size, version and AI limits by tier. It is built for regulated organizations needing FedRAMP Moderate or HIPAA (Enterprise tier) and teams needing unlimited storage with large file uploads.

Category: Cloud Storage and File Sharing

Box key features

Box features, checked October 24, 2026
FeatureWhat we found
Storage per user and limits100 GB on Business Starter; unlimited on Business and up.
Sharing and permission controlsShared-link bandwidth limit 2 TB per user per month on Business plans.
Security and encryptionAdvanced security (classification, threat detection) from Enterprise.
Compliance certificationsFedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA on Enterprise; SOC 1/2/3 support on Business.
Version history and recovery25 (Starter), 50 (Business, Plus), 100 (Enterprise), unlimited (Enterprise Plus and Advanced) versions.
Integrations1,500+ integrations (Business)

Box pricing

Box prices per user per month. Individual is free with 10 GB and a 250 MB upload limit. Business Starter covers 3 to 10 users with 100 GB and 2 GB uploads. Business and above give unlimited storage, with upload limits rising from 5 GB to 15 GB, 50 GB, 150 GB and 500 GB across Business, Business Plus, Enterprise, Enterprise Plus and Enterprise Advanced. Enterprise Plus pricing shows only on the annual toggle, and Box Platform add-ons are annual only, with unused quantities expiring at term end. Renewal terms are not published.

Box plans as published on October 24, 2026
PlanPriceUnitNotes
IndividualFree1 user10 GB, 250 MB upload
Business Starterper user/month3 to 10 users, 100 GB, 2 GB upload, 25 versions
Businessper user/month3 users min, unlimited storage, 5 GB upload, 50 versions
Business Plusper user/month15 GB upload, advanced admin
Enterpriseper user/month50 GB upload, 100 versions, FedRAMP Moderate, HIPAA
Enterprise PlusAnnual billing onlyper user/month150 GB upload, 24-hour support, Box Agent
Enterprise AdvancedContact salescustom500 GB upload, Box Archive

Only the $5 headline price is listed here; per-plan prices for the other tiers are not stated.

Who Box is best for

Best for

  • Regulated organizations needing FedRAMP Moderate or HIPAA (Enterprise tier)
  • Teams needing unlimited storage with large file uploads.

Not ideal for

  • Very small teams: all business plans need 3 users minimum.
  • Buyers wanting public prices above entry tiers (Enterprise Plus shown only on annual toggle)

Box alternatives

  • Dropbox BusinessSmall teams (Standard is available from 1 user) wanting simple sync and sharing.
  • Google DriveTeams already on Google Workspace email and Docs.
  • EgnyteMid-size firms wanting governance and ransomware detection on file storage.
  • ShareFileAccounting and financial firms needing HIPAA or SEC+FINRA-eligible sharing (Premium and up)
  • TresoritRegulated teams (HIPAA, legal, finance) that need zero-knowledge encryption.
  • Microsoft OneDriveOrganizations already on Microsoft 365 and Entra ID.

What Box really costs

Billing
Monthly and annual (Enterprise Plus annual only)
Minimum seats
3 users on Business and up.

Add-ons and extras to budget for

  • Box Platform add-ons (annual contracts only; unused quantities expire at term end)

Questions to ask about price

  1. What is the discount for annual billing, and can we start monthly?
  2. How much can the price rise at renewal, and is the increase capped in the contract?
  3. Are there one-time costs for implementation, onboarding or data migration?

Is Box worth the price?

Box is good value when you need unlimited storage, large file uploads or FedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA coverage, which arrive on Enterprise. It gets expensive and awkward for very small teams because of the 3-user minimum, and for buyers who want public prices above the entry tiers. Plan limits on versions and file size are the usual reason teams move up a tier.

Worth it if

  • Regulated organizations needing FedRAMP Moderate or HIPAA (Enterprise tier)
  • Teams needing unlimited storage with large file uploads.

Look elsewhere if

  • Very small teams: all business plans need 3 users minimum.
  • Buyers wanting public prices above entry tiers (Enterprise Plus shown only on annual toggle)

Pricing details most reviews leave out

  • Business plans require 3 users minimum.
  • Max upload size scales from 2 GB to 500 GB by tier.
  • Version history is capped (25 to 100) until Enterprise Plus.
  • Enterprise Plus pricing is visible only after switching to annual billing; Box Platform add-ons are annual only.

Box compared

Our verdict on Box

Box advertises plans from $5 per user per month, but that headline is the only price we can confirm. Individual is free with 10 GB. Every business plan needs at least 3 users, so the smallest team pays for three seats regardless of size. Per-plan prices for Business Starter, Business, Business Plus and Enterprise are not stated in what we have, so budget from the quote, not the headline.

What you pay for as you move up is limits. Upload size grows from 2 GB to 500 GB, version history is capped at 25 on Starter, 50 on Business and Plus, and 100 on Enterprise until Enterprise Plus. G2 shows 4.2 from 5,175 reviews. The practical lesson is that the cheap entry tier is rarely the tier a growing team ends up on.

Box FAQ

What is Box used for?

Box is an enterprise content cloud with unlimited storage on its business plans and rising file size, version and AI limits by tier. All business plans need at least 3 users, and FedRAMP Moderate support arrives on Enterprise. It suits regulated organizations needing FedRAMP Moderate or HIPAA (Enterprise tier).

What is the minimum number of users on Box?

All business plans require at least 3 users. Business Starter covers 3 to 10 users.

Does Box have a free plan?

Yes. Individual is free for one user with 10 GB of storage and a 250 MB upload limit.

What limits push you to a higher Box plan?

Upload size rises from 2 GB on Starter up to 500 GB on Enterprise Advanced, and version history is capped at 25 to 100 until Enterprise Plus. Storage is unlimited from Business up.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Box's own pricing, product or documentation pages, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Unknown values are left out instead of estimated.

Sources (2)
  1. pricing page (box.com)
  2. g2.com