Expensify vs Ramp (2026): features, pricing and which to choose
Expensify and Ramp compared on what they do, who they suit, their key features, pros and cons, and what each costs for your team, with every fact checked on October 24, 2026.
Expensify or Ramp: the short answer
Choose Ramp if
- Companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card.
- Teams that want a free entry tier with QuickBooks Online or Xero.
What are Expensify and Ramp?
Expensify
Expensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member. It also offers the Expensify Card, and card transactions can be exported to QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero and Sage Intacct.
Ramp
Ramp is a corporate card and spend platform with a free tier and a paid Plus plan. It combines cards, expenses and accounts payable in one tool, with automatic receipt matching and integrations for QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite and Sage Intacct.
Expensify vs Ramp: features compared
| What it is | Expensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member. | Corporate card and spend platform with a free tier and a paid Plus plan, where purchase orders come from a Procurement add-on. |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card. | |
| Approval workflows and policy controls | Not published | Approval workflows on Plus. |
| Corporate cards | Expensify Card exists (default export accounts documented) | Corporate card included on all plans. |
| Accounting integrations | Card export to QuickBooks Online, NetSuite, Xero, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Desktop, FinancialForce (per card settings page) | Free: QuickBooks Online, Xero. Plus: NetSuite, Sage Intacct. Enterprise: Workday, Oracle Fusion. |
| Reimbursements and payments | Not published | 1099 filing $0.65 per IRS filing, free state filing. |
| Travel and mileage tracking | Not published | 24/7 phone support for travel bookings on Plus. |
| Free plan or trial | No | Free plan, Free trial |
| Starting price | Contact sales | $0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee |
| G2 rating | 4.5 (5,654 reviews) | 4.8 (2,492 reviews) |
Pros and cons
Expensify
Ramp
Pros
- Easy expense reporting and automatic receipt matching with real-time alerts.
- Accounting integrations (QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite) save time at month end close.
- Helpful and responsive customer support in many reviews.
- Efficiency gains from one place for cards, expenses and spend controls.
Cons
- Support can be slow to resolve issues and hard to reach a person in some reviews.
- Card-first model: fraud handling can mean replacing the card; sudden limit decisions reported.
- Occasional accounting integration snags, especially QuickBooks rules and memos.
- Authorization holds slow to drop off.
Expensify vs Ramp pricing
Expensify starts at Contact sales and Ramp at $0 (Free); Plus $15 per user per month plus platform fee. The pricing bases differ, so compare the full quote for your team rather than the entry price.
| Pricing model | Not published | per user plus platform fee |
|---|---|---|
| Per seat per month | Not published | $15 per user per month on Plus (plus platform fee by team size, amount not published) |
| Billing | Not published | Monthly and annual. |
| 20 users per year | Not published | $3,600 (Plus) |
| Add-ons | Not published | Procurement add-on on Plus/Enterprise; Accounts Receivable add-on; 1099 filing $0.65 per IRS filing. |
Differences most comparisons miss
Worth knowing about Ramp
- PO functions are a paid add-on and need Plus, so the $0 tier has no purchase orders.
- Plus fee has a platform component based on team size that the page does not quantify.
- ERP depth rises by tier: NetSuite and Sage Intacct only from Plus, Workday and Oracle from Enterprise.
- Procurement can match card transactions to POs, tying approval to actual spend.
Expensify vs Ramp: frequently asked questions
Which is better, Expensify or Ramp?
It depends on the team. Expensify is the stronger pick for expensify is a receipt-scanning expense reporting app for small teams, sold per member, while Ramp suits companies that want cards, expenses and AP in one tool and are fine adopting its card. Compare the feature rows above against your must-haves before you look at price.
Do Expensify and Ramp support SAML single sign-on?
Expensify: not stated on its public pages. Ramp: supported (Okta, Google, Microsoft Azure); plan not stated. Confirm the plan in writing before you compare prices.
Can I try Expensify and Ramp for free?
Expensify: no free plan or trial is published. Ramp: free plan, free trial.
Sources
Both columns use the same sources: vendor pricing and product pages, documentation, G2 and company records, checked on October 24, 2026. Full source lists are on the Expensify and Ramp reviews.